From Engineering Computing Online
Revision as of 04:01, 11 July 2019 by Xuejian (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

International Conference on Analysis of Discontinuous Deformation (ICADD) is a conference dedicated to the discussion and promotion of the new methods on representation and analysis of discontinuities, which are widely existed inside the material or the physical field of engineering system [1]. Since the first conference held in Taiwan 1995, there are fourteen successful meetings and three small symposiums during these years.

MM Forum

Working Forum on the manifold Method of Material Analysis

Jenner, California, USA, October 4-6, 1995

Organized by Geotechnical Laboratory, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

[ Proceedings | BibTeX ]


Chungli, Taiwan, December 21-23, 1995

Conference Chair: John C. Li, Vice Chairman of Public Construction Commission, Taiwan

Organized by Department of Civil Engineering, National Central University

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]

DDA Forum

The First International Forum on DDA and Simulations of Discontinuous Media

Berkeley, California, USA, June 12-14, 1996

Organized by University of California, Berkeley

Committee Chairpersons:

  • Neville G. W. Cook, University of California, Berkeley
  • M. Reza Salami, North Carolina A&T State University

Honorary Chairpersons:

  • Richard E. Goodman, University of California, Berkeley
  • Gen-Hua Shi, Waterways Experiment Station

[ Proceedings | BibTeX ]


Kyoto, Japan, July 10-12, 1997

Conference Chair: Yuzo Ohnishi, Kyoto University

Organized by School of Civil Engineering, Kyoto University and The Japan Institute of Systems Research

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]


From Theory to Practice

Vail Colorado, USA, June 3-4, 1999

Conference Chair: Bernard Amadei, University of Colorado

Organized and Sponsored by American Rock Mechanics Association and ARMA Foundation

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]


Glasgow, Scotland, UK, June 6-8, 2001

Conference Chair:

  • Nenad Bićanić, University of Glasgow

Organized by University of Glasgow

Supported by American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]



Stability of Rock Structures

Beer Sheva, Israel, October 6-10, 2002

Conference Chair: Yossef H. Hatzor

Sponsored by

  • Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Beer Sheva, Israel
  • American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
  • Israel Nature and Parks Authority
  • Israel Rock Mechanics Association (IRMA)

[ Proceedings | Get the book | BibTeX ]



Development and Application of Discontinuous Modelling for Rock Engineering

Trondheim, Norway, October 5-8, 2003

Conference Chair: Ming Lu

Sponsored by

  • Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Norwegian Group for Rock Mechanics (NBG)
  • Statoil ASA
  • International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM)

[ Proceedings | Get the book | BibTeX ]



Honolulu Hawaii, USA, December 10-12, 2005

Conference Chair:

  • John Tinucci, Agapito Associates, Inc.

Technical Program Chair:

  • Mary MacLaughlin, Montana Tech

Conference and Technical Program Co-Chair:

  • Nicholas Sitar, UC-Berkeley

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]



Fundamentals & Applications to Mining & Civil Engineering

Beijing, China, August 14-19, 2007

Honorary Chair: Jian-yong Qiao, PhD., Professor, President, China University of Mining & Technology, China


  • Yang Ju, PhD., Professor, China University of Mining & Technology, China
  • John Tinucci, PhD., President, American Rock Mechanics Association, USA


  • Jun Yang, PhD., Professor, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • Don Banks, PhD., Former Chief, Rock and Soil Division, WES, USA

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]

ICADD Hawaii

International Mini-Symposium for Numerical Discontinuous Analyses

Kona, Hawaii, USA, November 21, 2008


  • Yuzo Ohnishi, Kyoto University

Honorary Chair:

  • Gen-Hua Shi, DDA Company

Technical Program Chair:

  • Tomofumi Kiyama, Kyoto University

[ Proceedings | PDF File | BibTeX ]



New Developments and Applications

Singapore, November 25-27, 2009

Conference Chair:

  • Guowei Ma, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Organized by:

  • Society for Rock Mechanics & Engineering Geology (SRMEG), Singapore

Co-organized by:

  • School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Association for Computational Mechanics, Singapore

Main Sponsors: BasisSoft, LLP. and TriTech

[ Proceedings | Get the book | BibTeX ]



Back to the Future

Honolulu Hawaii, USA, December 6-8, 2011

Conference Chairs:

  • Jian Zhao (EPFL, CH)
  • Yuzo Ohnishi (Kyoto-U, JP)

Organized by

  • Laboratory for Rock Mechanics (LMR), EPFL, Switzerland
  • Kyoto University, Japan

Sponsored by

  • American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), US
  • Society for Rock Mechanics & Engineering Geology (SRMEG), Singapore

[ Proceedings | Get the book | BibTeX ]



Fukuoka, Japan, August 27-29, 2013

Conference Chairs:

  • Yuzo Ohnishi (Kyoto-U, JP)
  • Guangqi Chen (Kyushu-U, JP)

Organized by

  • Kyushu University, Japan
  • Kyoto University, Japan
  • Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • ISRM Commission on Discontinuous Deformation Analysis

[ Proceedings | Get the book ]


Wuhan, China, October 16-19, 2015

Honorary Chair:

  • Gen-Hua Shi, DDA Company, USA

Conference Chairs:

  • Chun-An Tang, Dalian University of Technology, China
  • Yu-Yong Jiao, Institute of Rock and Soil Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

For more information


Tianjin, China, December 8-10, 2017

Conference Chair:

  • Guowei Ma, Vice President of Hebei University of Technology, China

Conference Co-chairs:

  • Gaofeng Zhao, Professor, Tianjin University, China
  • Lifeng Fan, Professor, Beijing University of Technology, China

Organized by

  • Hebei University of Technology, China
  • Tianjin University, China
  • Beijing University of Technology, China
  • The University of Western Australia, Australia

For more information


Beijing, China, October 27-28, 2018

Honorary Chairman:

  • Dr. Gen-hua Shi, DDA Company, USA

Chairman of the Technical Committee:

  • Prof. Zuyu Chen
  • Prof. Yuzo Ohnishi

Chairman of the Organizing Committee:

  • Prof. Guoxin Zhang
  • Prof. Minhao Wang

Organized by

  • China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research
  • Power Construction Corporation of China
  • University of Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Beijing University of Technology

Supported by

  • DDA Commission, International Society for Rock Mechanics

For more information

  1. the Preface of the proceedings of ICADD-1.